8 hour Illinois Concealed Carry

(Those with Approved 8 hours Qualifications Recognized by I.S.P.)

Course Lessons:

  • A review of firearm safety, the basic principles of marksmanship, care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm
  • All applicable state and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; and
  • Instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
  • All shooting and qualification requirements mandated by the State of Illinois

Course Length:

  • This is a 1 day course – approximately 8 hours.
  • (This includes all classroom and range time. Depending upon the number of students and their abilities, the course length may vary.)

Course Cost:

  • The fee for this course is currently $79.00
  • Special pricing available for Veterans and Active Military
  • Private groups can get additional savings upon contacting Bronson at 618-795-6028

Prerequisites

  • To sign up for this class a student must have 8 hours of approved prior training recognized by I.S.P.
  • Active or honorably discharged from military, copy of DD214 or, 
  • NRA Basic Pistol - 8 hours or,
  • NRA Personal Protection in the Home - 8 hours or,
  • NRA Personal Protection Outside of the Home - 8 hours
  • Arrive with an open mind and a positive attitude, ready to learn.

Course Completion

  • Upon successful completion of the 8 hour course, students will receive a course certificate that will show that they have met the qualifications for the State of Illinois Carry and Conceal License.
  • Participants will also receive constructive suggestions and coaching during the live fire exercises.

Other Information and common questions:

  • Who may take this course? An applicant must be at least 21 years of age Have a valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident) Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of: A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification Not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.
  • What is the level of the course? – This class is for all who have the recognized 8 hours of prior training or Active or Retired Military, or Honorably Discharged, (Provide a copy of their DD214)
  • (For those that have not acquired a pistol yet, all major calibers will be covered, as will many safe uses and activities.)
  • Do I need to own a pistol to take this course? – No. There are a limited number of pistols available I encourage those who have a pistol and holster to use their own to get familiar with their own stuff. You will not be taking our guns and holsters home with you.
  • 150 Rounds of Ammunition for the handgun you are bringing.
  • Do I need to bring eye and ear protection to this course? – Yes, but if you forget, eye and ear protection will will be available.

Register for this class